Volume 3 , Week 50

December 22, 2008

Speaking Out

Internet Stakeholders Send Clear Message to ICANN

Various media outlets have been covering the submissions that flooded in during the ICANN public comment period on the Draft Applicant Guidebook. Network World reports that the "controversial proposal to create hundreds of new generic top-level domains is generating harsh criticism as corporations and individuals question the need for additional competition in the domain name marketplace and expense for businesses." According to Reuters, the U.S. Department of Commerce submitted a letter regarding the potential launch of new TLDs, which stated that, "it is unclear that the threshold question of whether the potential consumer benefits outweigh the potential costs has been adequately addressed."

FairWinds has submitted its comments on the guidebook and we hope that ICANN will live up to its promise of bottom-up policy development and thoughtfully consider the concerns raised by its constituents. More businesses are recognizing the need to speak out about domain name abuse and many are looking to address these issues head-on. This week, CADNA issued a press release announcing the addition of Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. and New York Life Insurance Company to its membership. The release, which also highlights the goals CADNA has set for 2009, can be viewed online.

Dealing in Domains

Speculators Look to Turn Headlines into Profits

The New York Times reports that, "in the digital age, it seems that no Wall Street debacle is complete without domain speculators trying to get a piece of the action." After money manager Bernard L. Madoff was arrested for fraud, the domain BernieMadoff.com was put up for sale on eBay. Records show that BernieMadoff.com was registered on December 12, and its owner is seeking a minimum of $10,000. As of yet, there are no bids on the domain.

Decisions

Protecting Against Bad Plaid

Burberry Limited filed a UDRP complaint against Jonathan Schefren over the domain name burberryscarfonline.com, a Web site that attracts about 100,000 visitors per year via a mix of direct and search-referred visits. The Respondent in this case was found to be using Burberry's trademark to sell counterfeit products, and the panel ordered the transfer of the domain name to the Complainant.

Traffic to the site has spiked over the past two months, perhaps because of online holiday shopping. It is important that Burberry meets consumers who are looking for authentic goods with relevant content; if used correctly, ownership of burberryscarfonline.com could be very helpful in protecting the Burberry brand.

 

FairWinds Partners, LLC
2122 P Street, NW, Suite 300 | Washington, D.C. 20037
Office: +1 202 223 9252 | www.fairwindspartners.com
Download the Weekly News Brief

About the FairWinds Weekly News Brief